Peyton Manning Named AFC Offensive Player for 2012, Peterson Wins For NFC

Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning was named the 2012 AFC Offensive Player of the Year by NFL 101 Awards – the nation’s premier football awards event dedicated exclusively to the National Football League – Tuesday.

Manning, who is a seven-time 101 Award winner (1999, 2003-05, ’08-09, ’12), led the Broncos to their second consecutive division title and the AFC’s No. 1 seed, while setting every major franchise single-season passing mark in his first year with the club. Named to his 12th Pro Bowl, the most among quarterbacks in NFL history, Manning finished the 2012 regular season with team records for completions (400), passing yards (4,659), completion percentage (68.6%), touchdowns (37) and passer rating (105.8).

Peyton Manning/Google Images

Peyton Manning/Google Images

Manning directed the Broncos to 11 consecutive wins to finish the regular season, while capturing AFC Offensive Player of the Month honors in October and December. He also passed Hall of Famer Dan Marino for the second-most wins (154) by a starting quarterback in NFL history. In addition, Manning surpassed former quarterback Brett Favre for the most career games (73) with at least three touchdown passes.

The 15th-year veteran will be presented with the honor at the 43rd Annual NFL 101 Awards gala in Kansas City, Mo., on Mar. 2. The prestigious black-tie awards event was founded in 1969 and is presented this year by Perfect Output and ECCO Select.

A national media committee, comprised of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL, selected the winners in each award category in a nationwide vote at the conclusion of the regular season.

Adrian Peterson/Google Images

Adrian Peterson/Google Images

The committee also selected, Minnesota Vikings’ running back Adrian Peterson as the NFC Offensive Player of the Year, San Francisco 49ers’ linebacker Aldon Smith as the NFC Defensive Player of the Year, Houston Texans’ defensive end J.J. Watt as the AFC Defensive Player of the Year, Indianapolis Colts’ Chuck Pagano/Bruce Arians as the AFC Coach of the Year, and Seattle Seahawks’ Pete Carroll as the NFC Coach of the Year.

Manning is the third Bronco to win the award, joining Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway (1987, ’93, ’96) and former running back Terrell Davis (1997-98).





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FOLLOW @lockerreport100 INSTAGRAM