Duke F Jabari Parker Is The Top Freshmen Of The Land, Honor With The 2014 Integris Wayman Tisdale Award

By Coutesy of the USBWA

 The U.S. Basketball Writers Association will present the 2014 Integris Wayman Tisdale Award to Duke forward Jabari Parker. The award – a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray – will be presented to Parker at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Mon., April 14 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

As the national freshman of the year, Parker has led the Blue Devils to a 26-8 record and the No. 3 seed in the Midwest Regional of the upcoming NCAA Tournament.

The April 14 gala will also honor Kansas coach Bill Self as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award. In addition, the Oscar Robertson Trophy – given to the USBWA’s national player of the year – and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will be presented at the banquet to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

Parker, a 6-8, 235-pound true freshman from Chicago, is the USBWA’s District III Player of the Year, a consensus All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection and the conference’s Rookie of the Year. He is second in the ACC in scoring (19.3) and is looks to become just the fourth freshman in conference history to lead the league in rebounds (8.8).

Parker has scored in double figures in 17 straight games and in 32 of 34 games this season, breaking the the Duke freshman record held by Gene Banks and Luol Deng. Ten times, Parker was named ACC Rookie of the Week and the week of Dec. 24, Parker was the Wayman Tisdale National Freshman of the Week.

In addition to selecting Parker as the national freshman of the year, the USBWA chose four other first-year standouts for its 2014 Freshman All-America Team. Following is the complete team, all of whom were finalists for the Wayman Tisdale Award:


C Joel Embiid, Kansas (7-0, 250, Fr., Yaounde, Cameroon)
G Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (6-2, 180, Fr. Brampton, Ont.)
F Jabari Parker, Duke (6-8, 235, Fr., Chicago, Ill.)
F Julius Randle, Kentucky (6-9, 250, Fr., Dallas, Texas)
G Andrew Wiggins, Kansas (6-8, 200, Fr., Vaughan, Ont.)

Jabari Parker/Google Images

Jabari Parker/Google Images

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart became the third winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable winners of the national freshman of the year award include Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FOLLOW @lockerreport100 INSTAGRAM