2017 NFL Regional Combine: New Orleans Preview – Defense

By: Barry Barnes, Founder

The New Orleans Saints will host the finale of the 2017 NFL Regional Combine sessions, for a two-day event. The Saints opened their doors for the first time last year for the platform to conduct the workouts that could lead to prosperity in the NFL.

And several defensive players are well on their way to such affluence after attending the New Orleans-held trials in 2016.

Cornerback Chris Milton of Georgia Tech was impressive enough for the Indianapolis Colts to sign him.

Nevertheless, the defensive tackles dominated the talent pool that filtered through to the league in Zamir Carlis from Stillman, Johnny Maxey Jr. of Mars Hill and Woodrow Hamilton from Mississippi.

Carlis is a member of the Los Angeles Chargers. Unfortunately, his rookie season was put on ice as he was placed on injured reserve (ankle).

Maxey sustained a slight hamstring pull when he was running his second 40 attempt in the New Orleans-held campaign a year ago. Evidently, Maxey’s skill set was still welcoming to the Pittsburgh Steelers. After spending majority of the season on the practice squad, Maxey was promoted to the active roster in Week 16. Maxey registered a tackle on the season.

The New England Patriots seized Hamilton shortly after the 2016 NFL Draft and he was superb throughout the offseason. Hamilton was back and forth on the Patriots’ practice squad, but the 6-3, 315-pound defensive tackle did amass three tackles, and a Super Bowl ring, for his rookie crusade.

The Saints is one of the RC’s biggest believers.

Currently, the Saints have three defensive players on their roster.

Defensive back Chris Banjo ventured through the NFL Regional Combine in 2012 and was a long time member of the Green Bay Packers before he was released last year.

Robenson Therezie made an impression with the Atlanta Falcons in 2015; however, they did not have the defensive back from Auburn in the future plans towards their Super Bowl run this year as they released him in December.

Justin Zimmer is a freakish defensive tackle with a combination of speed, power and athleticism. Zimmer attended the Houston-held RC last year. The Buffalo Bills entertained Zimmer last season before being released.

Now, the 6-3, 291-pound Division-II standout is primed to pound Saints’ opponents for the upcoming season.

Who will join Zimmer and the others with the Saints from the 2017 New Orleans-held RC trials?

The Saints will definitely be watching, along with several squads around the league.

Check out the list of defensive prospects:


Richard Allen – Tulane

Donatello Brown – Valdosta State

Xavier Coleman – Portland State

Austin Davis – Kean

Austin Davis/Google Images

Lecorey Demease – Louisiana College

Levontre Edwards – Angelo State

Zachary Franklin – Washburn

Jeffrey Hall – Nicholls State

Kelvin Jenkins – Jacksonville

Decorian Johnson – McMurry

Wayne Johnson – South Alabama

Brandon Lee – Wayne State, Michigan

Kavoderic McIntyre – McPherson

Korey Rogan – Indianapolis

Marcus Sayles – West Georgia

Cameron Stubbs – Dayton

Shannon Swain – Saint Francis, Ind.

DeVante Thomas – Chadron State

Laronji Vason – West Georgia

Keshawn Walker – Northern Michigan

Justin Barnes – Arizona Christian

Justin Barnes/Google Images

Jeremy Boykins – Central Florida

Antonio Brown – William Penn

Ray Buchanan – Northern Iowa

Chris Cooley – Lenoir-Rhyne

Christopher Cooley – Delta State

Dominique Martin – Tarleton State

La’Darius Newbold – Illinois State

Devontre Parnell – Southern Mississippi

John Payne – Eastern Oregon

Demari Reynolds – Adams State

Clim Robbins – Central State, Ohio

Jordan Stargell – University of Monticello

Christian Taylor – Houston Baptist

Khalil Thomas – McNeese State

Deonte Wilson – Florida International

Case Woodard – Catawba


Alfred Ansley – Florida Atlantic

Jahvez Barnes – Northwestern State, La.

Tyler Bloyer – Northern Colorado

Jarell Boyd-Ross – Bloomsburg

Wesley Brandon – Adams State

Derrick Bryant – Indianapolis

Kalliy Ceesay – Eastern Oregon

Anthony Cesar – Wagner

Valorian Cunningham – Wayne State, Mich.

Wilson Curtis – Delta State

Taron Divens – Southeast Missouri

Zachary Dunston – Virginia Union

Deshawntee Gallon – Georgia Southern

Kenny Moore – Valdosta State

Maurice Payne – Tabor

Cedric Poole – Miles

Lindzell Rhodes – Virginia Union

Lloyd Robinson – Arkansas-Monticello

Brenaska Sanders – Nicholls State

Tyler Stewart – Cumberland

Bradley Street – Alabama State

Q’niko Thomas – Southern Arkansas

Jerod Boykins – Central Florida

Bruce Brittingham – Minn. State-Mankato

Joshua Burton – Weber State

La Donald Byrd – Ferrum

Jonovan Cotton – Southern Nazarene

Derrick Fulmore – Slippery Rock

Robert Gardner – Southeastern Oklahoma

Vasquez Haynes  – Abilene Christian

Stonewall Hunter – Louisiana Monroe

Michael James –  Alderson Broaddus

Justin Jemison – Jackson State

Josh Monteagudo – Emporia State

Jordan Moore – Texas-San Antonio

Jhaleel Oswald – LIU Post

Keith Reineke – Mary Hardin-Baylor

James Rivers – North Alabama

Jacob Schmidt – Mary Hardin-Baylor

Stephen Thayer – Missouri Valley

Brian Walker – Fort Valley State

Darrain Winston – Baker


Austin Clark – Morehouse

Justus Dauscha – Cumberland

Roper Garrett – Southeast Missouri

Rudolph Johnson – Louisiana College

Pat Miller – Stephen F. Austin

Ronald Perry -Northwestern State, La.

Shawn Stephens – Northwestern State, La.

Eric Thomas – Tulane

Stephen Williams – Benedict

Royce Asi – Oklahoma Panhandle State

Arkez Cooper – Grambling

Sentorio Dennis – Delta State

Jamari Ford – Miles

Joshua Hill – Merrimack

Derrick Hogan – Sterling

Corey Mitchell – New Haven

Ferlindo Vincent – Kentucky Wesleyan

Jalen Williams-Luke – Arkansas Tech

Willie Duncan – Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Eddrick Harris – North Alabama

Nathan Jernigan – Cumberland

Marcus Lee – Savannah State

Stephan Lewis – Kean

DeMarcus Nolan – Livingstone College

Nickolas Ortiz – Dickinson State, N.D.

Luke Stice – Texas Tech

Anthony Zappone – Slippery Rock

Terrance Bush – Bowling Green

David Coleman – Kean

Jareid Combs – North Texas

Dvonta Derricott – Arkansas Tech

Addison Ellicott – Southwestern

Stacey Garner – Alcorn State

Braxton Moore – Louisiana-Monroe

Jarrian Roberts – North Texas

                                                      DEFENSIVE FRONTS

Romairal Allen – Arkansas-Monticello

Justin Broussard – Southwestern

Christopher Casher – Faulkner

Jessie Clark – Montana State

Torrey Dale – Mississippi State

Christian Ferratti – Northwestern Oklahoma State

Demetris Ford – Arkansas Tech

Frederick Henry-Ajudua – North Carolina Central

Brian Khoury – Carnegie Mellon

Jemarcus Marshall – Northwestern State, La.

John Popovich  – Southeast Missouri

Denzel Whitfield – Florida Atlantic

Khalil Young – Mississippi Valley

Laren Fairley – Delta State

Garron Featherston – Northwestern State, la.

Rostell King – Central Arkansas

Villiami Latu – Arizona State

Derrick Lyles – Texas Southern

Keyso Moss – Missouri S&T

Shalom Ogbonda – Florida Atlantic

Uso Olive – Central Washington

Myles Overton – Northern Colorado

Nhigel Phillips – Albany State, Ga.

Darnell Vickers – West Liberty State

Cortney Stinnett – Oklahoma Panhandle State

Alex Jenkins – Incarnate Word

E.J. Parnell – North Alabama

Corey Vereen – Tennessee

James York – Fayetteville State

Karmichael Dunbar – Louisiana-Lafayette

Patrick Graffree – Eastern Kentucky

Jensen Jackson – Harding

Joshua Manley – Campbell

Alex Pace – Cincinnati

Dean Tsopanides – New Haven

Edward Vinson – Emporia State

Steve Wallace – Lindsey Wilson

Leonard Washington – Florida International

Malik Young – Williams Penn

“Like” us on Facebook and “Follow” us on Twitter and Instagram now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FOLLOW @lockerreport100 INSTAGRAM